PolySwarmPolySwarmPolySwarmPolySwarm
Go to PolySwarm
Home

Accounts

PolySwarm offers 2 types of accounts: 1) User Account, 2) Team Account.

User Account

Account Creation

When signing up at https://polyswarm.network, a new User Account is created. Everyone should sign up for a User Account as their first step.

Subscription Plan

All new User Accounts are assigned the free “Community” subscription plan. This allows all users to enjoy the base functionality of the platform for free. Once the User Account is created, a paid Subscription Plan can be selected. View the Pricing page to see the list of available plans and the features in each plan.

All usage performed in the PolySwarm UI while in the context of a User Account will be accounted for by the current Subscription Plan for that account. To perform usage that is accounted for by a Team Account’s Subscription Plan, change the active Context to that Team Account’s Context.

Account Settings

In the Context Menu in the upper right corner, choose the Settings option to access the Account Settings.

When viewing the Account Settings, the left area has your username, name, email address, and account number readily displayed in the first box. The second box indicates your current subscription plan.

Profile

The Profile tab allows users to change their username, name, and password. You cannot change your email address. The username is what gets displayed to other users if you claim a microengine

API Keys

The API Keys tab is used to manage API Keys. Users are required to have one API key at all times, so we automatically create the first one. Users can create more API Keys as needed. Users can delete any API Key, but we do not permit deletion of the API Key if it is the only one.

API Keys are used by the PolySwarm CLI and API to authenticate and associate a user’s activity with their account. All API Keys in a user account share the current subscription plan.

Usage

The Usage tab displays the list of features available in the current subscription plan. Next to each feature is a count of the number of times that features was used and the total number of times that feature can be used per billing cycle.

The Daily API Request Limit is the maximum number of total usage allowed per 24hrs.

Current Plan

The Current Plan displays the list of available plans, with the currently active plan greyed out. The chart indicates which features are available in each plan as well as all usage limits. Next to each feature name is an info button which provides a brief description of the feature.

Below each plan is a button that allows the user to submit a request to start a trial or to change their plan.

Advanced

The Advanced tab provides access to functionality that is less often accessed.

Secure Authentication

Enabling Secure Authentication is highly recommended if an email address and password are used to login. This will turn on Two-Factor Authentication using an Authentication App for the account. Users who login using external sites like Google and GitHub do not need to enable Secure Authentication here, because Google and GitHub have their own native Secure Authentication systems that should be used instead.

Delete Account

This does exactly what it says. It will permanently delete the user account. There are some things to be aware of when deleting an account.

  1. If the user is the only Team Admin on a team, they cannot delete their account. The team has to first assign another user as a Team Admin.
  2. If the user has a claimed microengine, they cannot delete their account. The user has to first delete their microengine claim.
  3. If the user has an active Live Hunt, it will be automatically stopped and deleted.
  4. All Live and HIstorical Hunting instances, results, and rules will be deleted.
  5. All user account information will be deleted.
  6. There is no undelete!

Microengine Claiming

A user account can claim a microengine. Once a microengine is claimed, the Personal or Team API keys can be used in the microengine to enable access to communicate with the marketplace. The marketplace contains multiple public and private communities, and the microengine’s access to those communities is controlled by an API key.

Team Account

Account Creation

One or more Teams can be created from the Context Menu of a logged in user, by selecting the “Create Team” option. Each Team is a distinct account, which is also distinct from the user account that created it. The settings of each Team Account are separate from the settings of the User Account used to create the team.

Subscription Plan

All new Team Accounts are assigned the free “Community” plan. This allows all Teams to enjoy the base functionality of the platform for free. Once the Team Account is created, a paid Subscription Plan can be selected. View the Pricing page to see the list of available Plans and the features in each plan.

All usage performed in the PolySwarm UI while in the context of a Team Account will be accounted for by the current Subscription Plan for that Team Account. To perform usage that is accounted for by a User Account's Subscription Plan, change the active Context to that User Account's Context. To perform usage that is accounted for by a different Team Account’s Subscription Plan, change the active Context to that other Team Account’s Context.

Account Settings

In the Context Menu in the upper right corner, when in the active context of the team, choose the Settings option to access the Account Settings for the team.

When viewing the Account Settings, the left area has the team’s name, account number, and the Team Admin readily displayed in the first box. The button next to the team name is used to edit the team name or delete the team. The second box indicates the current subscription plan for the Team’s Account.

Members

The Members tab is used to manage the members of the team. When the team is initially created, the only member is the user who created the team. The User who created the team has the role of Team Admin by default.

Click the “+” plus sign icon to invite additional users to the team. When inviting a user, a name and email address is required. There is an option to assign a Role to the User that will activate when they accept the invitation.

Members - Roles

Role-based access control is used to manage Users in a Team. A single user can have one or more roles on each team where they are a member.

  • Team Admin - this role has all privileges, including deletion of the team.
  • Billing Admin - this role enables a User to view the team’s accounting and billing information as well as change the team’s subscription plan.
  • Community Admin - this role enables a User to administer a Community created/owned by that team. This includes:

    • Requesting the creation of a new community.
    • Inviting others User/Team accounts to join the community.
    • Removing User/Team accounts from the community.
  • Team Member - this is the default role given to User’s when joining a team. Team members can manage their own API Keys.

Communities

The Communities tab lists all communities the Team can access. Teams are given access to PolySwarm’s default public community upon the creation of the team.

Invitations

The Invitations tab is used to manage Team member invitations. It will list all currently active team invitations and will allow the Team Admin to delete or resend invitations.

API Keys

The API Keys tab is used to manage API Keys. In a Team account, each Team Member has their own separate API Keys. All Team Members are required to have one API key at all times, so we automatically create the first one. Team Members can create more API Keys as needed by clicking the “+” button. Team Members can delete any of their API Keys by clicking on the trash can button, but are unable to delete an API Key if it is the only one.

API Keys in a Team are used by the PolySwarm CLI and API to authenticate and associate a Team Member’s activity with the Team Account. All API Keys in a Team Account share the current subscription plan for that Team.

Usage

The Usage tab displays the list of features available in the current subscription plan. Next to each feature is a count of the number of times that features was used and the total number of times that feature can be used per billing cycle.

The Daily API Request Limit is the maximum number of total usage allowed per 24hrs.

Current Plan

The Current Plan tab displays the list of available plans, with the currently active plan greyed out. The chart indicates which features are available in each plan as well as all usage limits. Next to each feature name is an info button which provides a brief description of the feature.

Below each plan is a button that allows the user to submit a request to start a trial or to change their plan.